Shadow cabinet reshuffle to ‘put Sturgeon on notice’

28 Jun 2017

Scottish Conservative MSP Donald Cameron has been handed a key new post as the party’s chief policy co-ordinator in a major shake-up of the Scottish Conservative team.

Announcing the move today, leader Ruth Davidson said the plan showed the party was determined to provide a credible alternative government to an SNP administration focused solely on independence.

And she added the move was an indication that Nicola Sturgeon was “being put on notice” by the Scottish Conservatives ahead of the next Holyrood election.

Mr Cameron will be given responsibility for policy development ahead of that vote.

His appointment comes as part of a wider reshuffle to the Scottish Conservative team.

Three MSPs are promoted to the shadow cabinet:

Miles Briggs will take over as the party’s shadow health secretary.

Liam Kerr has been named as shadow justice secretary.

And Rachel Hamilton becomes shadow cabinet secretary for culture and tourism.

West of Scotland MSP Maurice Golden has been named the party’s new chief whip, following John Lamont’s election to Westminster.

Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson said:

“The SNP’s bubble has burst and people across Scotland are now looking for change.

“The Scottish Conservatives have done a strong job holding the Scottish Government to account since becoming the main opposition at Holyrood last year.

“Now we have to step it up.

“That’s why I’ve asked Donald Cameron to take on the role of co-ordinating and developing policy with the shadow cabinet team as we look towards the elections in 2021.

“I am serious about offering the voters of Scotland a choice at those elections with the Conservatives as a credible alternative government of Scotland.

“It’s not enough to simply point out where the SNP has performed badly or let Scotland down.

“This is about showing what we’d do differently and how we can move Scotland forward.

“In areas such as education, public services and the economy we are bursting with ideas and we will work with stakeholders across Scotland to bring forward a manifesto in 2021 which can command the support of the country.

“Nicola Sturgeon is being put on notice.

“It’s time Scotland had a government committed to the day job and that’s exactly the offer we will take to the country.”

Scottish Conservative MSP Donald Cameron said:

“I’m delighted to be asked by Ruth to undertake a general policy co-ordination role, with a view to the 2021 election.

“The Scottish Conservatives will produce a manifesto that draws on a wide range of expertise in all policy areas, proposing our vision for Scotland, and confirming us as a government-in-waiting.”

Prior to becoming an MSP, Donald Cameron worked at the Center for Strategic and International Studies, Washington DC (1999 to 2000).

He was also Standing Junior Counsel to the Scottish Government from 2009 to 2016.

The full Scottish Conservative shadow cabinet and ministerial team is below

Scottish Conservative shadow cabinet and spokesmen and women

Leader – Ruth Davidson MSP

Chief Whip and Business Manager, Spokesperson for the Low Carbon Economy– Maurice Golden MSP

Deputy Leader and Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Europe and External Affairs – Jackson Carlaw MSP

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Finance – Murdo Fraser MSP
Transport and Infrastructure – Jamie Greene MSP
Taxation – Bill Bowman MSP
Financial Sustainability – Tom Mason MSP

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Economy, Jobs and Fair Work – Dean Lockhart MSP
Business, Innovation and Energy and Deputy Business Manager– Alexander Burnett MSP
Jobs, Employability and Training – Jamie Halcro Johnston MSP

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport – Miles Briggs MSP
Mental Health, Public Health and Equalities – Annie Wells MSP
Health Education, Lifestyle and Sport – Brian Whittle MSP

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills – Liz Smith MSP
Further Education, Higher Education and Science – Oliver Mundell MSP
Childcare and Early Years – Michelle Ballantyne MSP

2021 Policy Coordinator, Shadow Cabinet Secretary for the Climate Change, Environment, Land Reform– Donald Cameron
Biodiversity, Animal Welfare and the Digital Economy – Finlay Carson

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Rural Economy and Connectivity– Peter Chapman MSP
Rural Affairs – Edward Mountain
Farming – John Scott

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for the Constitution, Communities, Social Security and Equalities – Adam Tomkins MSP
Welfare Reform – Jeremy Balfour MSP
Housing and Communities – Graham Simpson MSP
Local Government – Alexander Stewart MSP

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Justice – Liam Kerr MSP
Legal Affairs – Gordon Lindhurst MSP
Community Safety and Veterans Affairs – Maurice Corry MSP

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Culture and Tourism – Rachael Hamilton MSP
Tourism and Small Business – Alison Harris MSP