Ruth unveils shadow cabinet

19 May 2016

Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson has revealed her new shadow cabinet for the forthcoming parliamentary term.

The appointments are as follows:

Leader – Ruth Davidson
Chief whip – John Lamont
Deputy leader and shadow cabinet secretary for culture, tourism and external affairs – Jackson Carlaw
Shadow cabinet secretary for finance – Murdo Fraser
Shadow cabinet secretary for economy, jobs and fair work – Dean Lockhart
Shadow cabinet secretary for health and sport – Donald Cameron
Shadow cabinet secretary for education and skills – Liz Smith
Shadow cabinet secretary for communities, social security, the constitution and equalities – Adam Tomkins
Shadow cabinet secretary for justice – Douglas Ross
Shadow cabinet secretary for rural economy and connectivity – Peter Chapman
Shadow cabinet secretary for the environment, climate change and land reform – Maurice Golden

Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson said:

“The Scottish Conservatives have brought a fresh team to the Scottish Parliament and this new shadow cabinet is proof of that. It is a blend of experience and new talent who are ready and raring to go.

“This team brings talent and expertise from outside the parliament into the elected politics of Scotland.

“They will do the job that people in Scotland want to see from us – holding the SNP to account, putting forward positive policy alternatives and ensuring that, through strong opposition, we get better government.”​